Welcome to rants about the Solaris OS

I’ve worked more than 20 years with Solaris and possibly 10 with Linux. I really, really like Solaris. So much that there are records I would like to set straight – for the good of the reputation of Solaris. There are simply so many misunderstandings about Solaris and many of them come from the way old timers insist on installing it and using it. I’ll use this blog for some tips & tricks about Solaris and occasionally I hope I can deflate a myth or two.
I like Linux as well. Solaris sucks on the desktop side, but nobody uses it for desktop stuff anymore .. and frankly who cares?  Linux is like a zillion times better than Solaris as a desktop OS. Solaris, imho, is first and foremost a server OS. Solaris is the best server OS I’ve worked with, in particular if you use it in an enterprise. This is where Linux has trouble following quite to the level of Solaris. In fact I believe in this area Linux plays catchup and borrows from Solaris. The opposite is true on the desktop.

 

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Welcome to rants about the Solaris OS
  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

